Midweek Mumbles – Pinterest As A Research Tool

Between social media, email and online searches, I get around the internet a lot. And sometimes I come across a search engine, or social media platform that proves far more addictive an useful than I originally expected.

Pinterest is just such a platform, and in the short time I’ve been on there it has become very addictive. But I’ve also been able to turn it into a way of storing articles and images for later, turning it into a research tool too.

What is Pinterest?

According to Pinterest’s own user guide:

Pinterest is a visual bookmarking tool that helps you discover and save creative ideas.

These bookmarks are organized on boards, which allows you to sort your pins into topics. As you use Pinterest more it will start to learn the types of images, posts, or videos that will interest you, based on what you have already bookmarked.

What makes it so addicting?

You can add new pins and new boards at any time, which makes it a very flexible tool for research, but because Pinterest will present you with a lot of suggestions for pinning.

Now, I have a lot of personal interests, and of course, I added those first of all. Then, when I realized that Pinterest users were pinning things from all over the internet, I added topics for my story research too. And that’s when things went a little crazy.

Within a week, I found myself checking back in several times a day, and tagging tens of pins at a time, posting them to my boards so I could check them out later. And I seriously intend to do that some day, especially as a lot of what I have been pinning is potential idea generators for my books.

And on that note…

Get a peek at some of the materials I’ve been pinning about Seattle, the city in which the majority of the “Shadows Over Seattle” series is set in…

 

Leave a Reply

