What would you give to feel famous for even a moment?

This is a question I’ve asked myself a number of times in the past, and I’ve never come up with a satisfactory answer.

It might well be, that even though I’m a writer, and I’m very active in the indie community, I’ve never really written to become famous. But then something happens, and you get a momentary feeling for what it could be like to be famous. And I’ll tell you, it feels good.

The Unlikeliest of Meetings…

Outside the odds of me having met my wife, this is probably one of the most outrageous set of circumstances in which I could be made to feel famous… I’m not going to give actual names, to protect the parties involved, but if they read this, I know they’ll recognize themselves…

I work in a local big-box grocery store, and have been with the company for the last five years. And I’ve never made a secret of the fact that I’m a published writer – in fact, my name badge even says as much. Just having those two words “Published Author” is enough to start whole conversations about books and writing. And just sometimes, I get to pass out one of my business cards because someone wants to find out more about my work.

Well, yesterday I met a customer who had shopped with us for a while, and had even followed us over the road when our store located to a new, bigger property. He’d seen me in passing, as I went around the business of managing the front-end of the store, and I knew his face, but we’d never really stopped to talk.

Until Now…

Yesterday, this customer stopped short a few feet from me, did a double-take, and asked “Are you Timothy Bateson?” I said I was. “THE Timothy Bateson”, “Well, I don’t know about THE Timothy Bateson, but I’m definitely one of them”, “The Timothy Bateson who wrote Under A Hunter’s Moon?”, “Yeah, that’s me”… And the conversation got weirder from there…

The customer is another local writer, who had somehow connected online with an author I’d worked with on the Brain to Books Scavenger Hunt, and they’d got talking… As you do. Well, the subject came up about the customer’s location, and the author mentioned she knew a author in the same state as the customer… In fact, in the same town…

Hearing how this meeting came about just set my head spinning for a moment, but then I realized why… For the length of that conversation with the customer, I felt famous… And it felt like being struck by lightning and walking away with a smile on your face…

Needless to say…

I’ve emailed the author who sparked the event to personally thank her, and let her know just how special that conversation was. Especially since I’d had a very rough few days at work, and this put everything into perspective once more.

I’ll also be staying in touch with the customer, because as fellow writers, I think it’d be great to know there is a local support network. Even if it’s just someone to bounce an idea off, or ask advise about something…

 

So… What would you give to feel famous for a even a moment? Comment below…

3 thoughts on “What would you give to feel famous for even a moment?

  1. You know, I watch what goes on for the big celebrities. That Rick Roirdan had to leave his teaching job because of security, that Orson Scott Card had to move because of the hate over his support of his religious beliefs. All the thiusabds of weird, crazy stories make me say “meh, I don’t need/want to be famous. I just want to make a decent living. Don’t even need to be rich, just need to pay some bills and I’ll be happy.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit, I’m not in it to be famous either. I ave stories that want to be told, and if I can make some money from them, so much the better.
      That said, it still felt great being recognized for the writing, rather than being ‘that British guy who works at the store’.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. No doubt! Kudos! I do get a nice feeling when I get recognized by fans at conventions, so I get that. Hard for you to do conventions in the Great White North, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

