Author Spotlight – J.N. Sheats

lineage-blog-tour-banner

Introducing J.N. Sheats

I’m a paranormal author, but before I published my first book I was a freelance illustrator and designer. Today I do all three. I love creating covers and new graphics for not only myself, but other authors as well.

Could you tell us a bit about your latest book?

Sure, my latest book was released in October 2016, and it’s titled Lineage, the first in the J.J. Morris mysteries.

The book centers on the small town of Portstown, and Joey Morris. A teenager that has lived a unique life moving around ever since she was eleven. Now that’s back in her family’s hometown she has settled into a nice flow of life, until mysterious wild dog attacks start.

This book is full of paranormal goodies, everything from murderous hounds, to wandering spirits.

Who is your intended readership?

While the book itself focuses on characters in their mid teens, my readership is more adult. My books tend to be rather dark, haunting, and violent with adult themes for a more grownup audience.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?

8th grade, I had a dream which I thought would be an awesome book, and from that day forward I was writing in notebooks. Never thought it would ever go anywhere, and for a while it went onto the back burner but not anymore.

Do you have a favorite author, or writing inspiration?

I have too many favorite authors to list them all; as for inspiration I pull it from all over. From movies, watching people interact, or family drama. I never know where the idea for my next book is going to show up.

What advice would you give beginning writers?

Write, just write. Don’t worry about genres, or fitting into this type of writing style or following this outlining process. Just write whatever you want, be true to yourself and your characters.

Do you have any amusing writing stories or anecdotes to share?

I do have a quote I love. I stumbled upon it when I was studying animation, but I feel it applies to writing or any creative art.

“As an artist you have 10,000 bad drawings given to you at birth. Now spend your lifetime getting them out!” ~Sheldon Borenstein

Change the drawings to drafts and it rings true for writers.

What do you like to do when you’re not writing? Any hobbies?

I have too many hobbies. Aside from writing I illustrate/draw, garden, make jewelry, cook, read, and watch tons of brain rotting television.

What’s your next project? Any upcoming book secrets you care to reveal?

I have a lot of little projects in the works, including a short fantasy series that will be released monthly in a special newsletter, called Divine Legacy. As far as my next big project, that would have to be Dreamscape, JJ Morris #2.

I always have goodies to tease people with. How about a look at the new character coming in Dreamscape?

Riann

A shy college student that comes face to face with the Dream Conductor and lives to tell about it. Frightened by the Conductor’s plans for her and others like her, Riann seeks out Joey for help. But the Dream Conductor is known for manipulating people, and using them for their own evil deeds. Can Riann trust herself and her judgment or is she putting Joey and the others in danger?

Catch the first 5 raw unedited chapters of Lineage on my blog:

Inside the Insanity

Chapter 1 | Chapter 2 | Chapter 3 | Chapter 4 | Chapter 5

lineage-teaser-2

About The Author:

J.N. Sheats is an artist turned author. Living in Maryland with six wild cats, and her husband, J.N. spends her days designing covers and teasers for other authors. At night she is at the mercy of her demanding characters, and their wild fantasies.

Dark Paranormal Fantasy is her preferred genre of writing, but anything is game. Maybe even a lovely romance novel or two in the near future.

When not writing, designing, or drawing, J.N. spends her time doing a host of other activities. Including: gardening, jewelry making, cooking, and watching far too much television.

Catch what’s up in J.N. Sheats’ crazy life with the links below. Stalkers welcomed. 😉

Website : Facebook : Twitter : Blog : Newsletter

Get exclusive sneak-peeks and more of Dreamscape, JJ Morris #2, on my patreon.

BECOME MY PATRON

Follow the progress of Dreamscape and all writing/art projects. Plus, first looks at raw chapters, prizes, deleted scenes, and much more!

“A dream is but a lie humanity embraces with eager submission—longing for it’s devious reality.”

~The Dream Conductor, Dreamscape~

 

Brought to you by:

pttd-blog-logo

 

Leave a Reply

