I Can’t Believe What Came In My Mail Today!

Sometimes after a hard day at work, it’s nice to come home to a surprise package. And today was one of those days that had been particularly rough, for a number of reasons, including a lack of sleep between shifts.

But, when I got home, there was a package sitting on my desk, which had arrived in the mail earlier today. When I opened it, I found a personalized and signed copy of “Summer’s Destiny”:

IMG_0192

About Summer’s Destiny

“Summer’s Destiny” is one of the books that I had the pleasure of receiving and Advanced Reader Copy of, from the author, Ariel Marie. It’s also one of the books I featured in my “Book Spotlight” series, when it released back in March of this year. But more importantly, it’s one of the books that I’ve had the pleasure of having a hand in helping to shape.

My small role in the book’s development

As one of Ariel’s ARC readers, I not only review her books on Amazon and Goodreads, but as an author I am in the habit of making notes about books, sentence structures, plot development, etc.

Now, Ariel’s books are not the only ones I do this for, but she is one of the authors I have approached about something in one of her books that was a grammatical stumbling block. She asked if I had any other thoughts that I’d be happy to send over, and ever since then, I’ve been dropping my notes into emails, in the hopes that Ariel has time to read them prior to the book releasing.

Check out the “Book Spotlight” post for more information about the book.

But there was more in the package

Also inside the package, Ariel had included a bookmark for “Toma”, book 2 of “The Dark Shadows” series, a business card, and a personal note.

The note read:

Dear Timothy,

I really appreciate you taking the time to read my books and offer pointers and tips (heart)

Ariel Marie

P.S. Check out page 65!

When I turned to page 65, I found this among the thank you’s the acknowledgments page:

“I want to offer a special thanks to Timothy Bateson for his helpful critiques of my books. They have helped me grow as an author.”

The result

I think I must have blushed several shades of red at that point. I realized that my comments had actually had an impact on a writer who has managed a more output than myself.

But, more than that, I initially wrote those notes for myself, and except for an accident of grammar might never have even been seen by Ariel, or anyone else. But that Ariel took time out of her busy pre-release and writing schedule to personalize a thank you, and send me a copy of one of her books just blows me away.

Thank You Ariel Marie! Your work is a pleasure to read, and I am grateful to have played some small part in it.

Leave a Reply

