Why Am I Redesigning My Website?

The State Of My Site Now

If you’ve been following my blog for any length of time, I’m sure you’ve had a chance to glance at my website at least once. To those who were curious about my work, and trying to find out more about the characters and settings, I apologize.

When I first started setting up the website, it was partially as a resource for myself, and as a place to point readers who wanted to get an idea of what kind of work went into my stories. I threw together character profiles, maps and pictures of places I used frequently, and even tried to index my anthology appearances and short stories.

It is in this latter part of the site navigation that I feel I failed potential readers the most. Because of the way the drop-down menu worked, I had pages that acted as nothing more than place holders for sub-menus, and often didn’t really reflect the pages that they pointed to.

My Goal

Over the next few weeks, I’ll be taking time out from writing the first draft of “Of Wolves & Men” to update the website. I plan on giving it a complete overhaul, and redesign to better reflect my work, make navigation around the site easier, and provide much better content. Some pages might disappear, or become absorbed into other pages, but I think we’ll all be a lot happier trying to find things on the new site.

When Will The Changes Go Live?

At this point, I’m not setting a deadline to launch the revised site, since I’m still playing around with layout ideas, and deciding what I want to keep, and what I want to change.

So, for those of you who have read this far… If you want to influence what pages I keep, drop me an email @ timothy.bateson.author@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

