The Passive Voice In Writing…

https://medium.com/@spectre_7/the-passive-voice-902f1760f9a1

I’d like to thank Chris J. Randolph, of Medium.Com for this amazing look at the passive voice in writing. It is an article from his blog, that I have had to read three or four times in order to fully appreciate.

Since I use online tools to analyze my writing, and to help me find grammatical problems, or outright poor writing, I often see warnings that inform me I have used the passive voice. When you research passive voice in the style guides, or even through online searches, everything suggests that it’s use is a sign of weak writing. But after reading this article, I now have a better understanding of why it might be considered weak, but also why it is sometimes okay to leave it unedited.

Thank you again, Chris, for opening my eyes, and showing me that the passive voice isn’t always a beast that has to be destroyed.

One thought on “The Passive Voice In Writing…

Leave a Reply

