Bridport Prize Entry

I just submitted “The Lupine’s Call”, my latest short story, to the Bridport Prize contest. This one took a lot less time to write than “Under a Hunter’s Moon”, but much longer to edit. It references the life-changing event from “Under a Hunter’s Moon”, and shows some of the fall-out, before highlighting the consequences of Richard’s life choices.

I hate to admit it, but I’m not as happy with “The Lupine’s Call” as I was with “Under a Hunter’s Moon”. I think the story is a little weaker, but the quality of writing is better. Let’s hope that’s enough to push it into the prize money category, since the Bridport Prize is a paid entry event.

Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

