I write like… (pt 2)

I write like
Anne Rice

I Write Like. Analyze your writing!

 

I write like Anne Rice? Proof: http://iwl.me/b/fdfaad03

This result comes from an analysis of a short story I just finished editing, and am considering entering into the Bridport Prize competition, which ends at the end of this month.

This result is a little more like my expectation for a writer in the urban fantasy or paranormal fiction fields. I know that Anne Rice is a very successful writer, and that her Vampire Chronicles books are very popular, but I will admit to not having been able to complete reading the entire set. I think the main reason was that I had a hard time getting through the first two books, and reading each successive book took longer and longer, until I gave up before even starting “Memnoch the Devil”.

Now, if only I can get one of my stories to read a little more like Jim Butcher, I might be happy with the final results. Of course, if I want to compare my main character (Richard Parsons) to Harry Dresden, he’s going to need a personality transplant. I think the reason my work reads more like Anne Rice, at least in this case, is that Richard often comes across as feeling sorry for himself. And to be fair, that is part of the context for the story, which follows on from “Under a Hunter’s Moon”. Now I just have to find a title for this story that feels right.

Leave a Reply

