Contracts And Anthologies

Have you ever had one of those mornings, where you don’t expect anything exciting to happen? Sure you have. For the majority of us, that’s most of our lives. Just occasionally something happens to make the day amazing, even before you’re even fully awake.

My morning went something like this:

  • Wake up to my wife’s alarm call at 7am, go back to sleep.
  • Wake up to my wife leaving for work, go back to sleep.
  • Wake up at 10am, turn off the alarm, and try to stay awake.
  • Put the kettle on for coffee.
  • Check emails while waiting for the water to boil.
  • Still struggling to stay awake.
  • Find an acceptance notification from Laurel Highlands Publishing for my short story “Under a Hunter’s Moon”
  • Check the attachments for the publishing agreement for their upcoming “Moon Shadows” anthology.
  • Bounce off the walls in excitement (insert expletives, stunned expressions, and long drawn out silences)
  • “Okay, I’m DEFINITELY awake now.”
  • Read the contract in full, print it out, create an e-signed copy, and make sure it’s saved somewhere safe.
  • Phone my wife at work to give her the good news.
  • Remember that I was supposed to be making breakfast over an hour ago.
  • Phone my parents, in England.
  • Remember the 9 hour time difference between Alaska and England.
  • Give my parents the good news, and catch up on family events.
  • Bounce off the walls again.
  • Field incoming call from my in-laws, congratulating me, and telling me how proud they are.
  • Finally make and eat breakfast.

Long story short, for those who hate reading bullet points? “Under a Hunter’s Moon” has been accepted for publication. It is the first piece of fiction I have ever submitted. There is a contract in my hands, which I still need to re-read, sign, and send back to Laurel Highlands Publishing. The “Moon Shadows” Halloween themed anthology is out later this year, with me as a contributing author.

I’m still stunned… Let’s see if I can use this energy to complete my second short story in time for the Bridport Prize.

 

Leave a Reply

