Slash and Burn

Slash and burn really is how I operate during edits. Scenes vanish under the scalpel, Characters are buried under pages of cut material, but nothing is ever really lost.
I retain a slush pile for cut material, which I mine for ideas whenever I am at a loss of where to go, or in need of a character to fill a hole. So just as in farming, a good slash and burn leaves behind it something fertile, and capable of further growth.

cicampbellblog

IMG_0051

Well, the time has come

It has to be done

My story’s too long

I must slash and burn.

The beginning is boring

The ending is weak

Something is needed

Much more than a tweak.

With hindsight, I knew it

My darlings must go

I’m certain without them

My story will flow.

The first draft came easy

The writing was fun

Then came the hard work

The edits I’ve done.

The month of November

My story was written

I’ll try it again

With NaNoWriMo I’m smitten.

But the thing for just now

It has to be done

A last edit is needed

I must slash and burn.

~~~

#Editing #NaNoWriMo #WriteWhereYouAre #Slash and Burn #Writing

~~~

View original post

2 thoughts on “Slash and Burn

  1. Thank you so much for reblogging my wee poem, Timothy. It’s a lighthearted poem, but, like you, I take editing seriously and I do slash and burn where necessary. I like what you said, ‘a good slash and burn leaves behind it something fertile, and capable of further growth.’

    Like

Leave a Reply

